Posted by: Deena Boese | February 19, 2010

Cool Artwork for your walls!

Is your home in need of some original artwork? It’s easier than you think to create your own. I designed this 16″ x 20″ poster for my daughter’s room by simply playing with type and blending modes in Photoshop. The thing I love about this project is that it’s completely limitless…colors, size, content, photo, message…whatever you can dream up you can create. Ah, my love for digi was just reaffirmed there. 🙂

As seen in Creating Keepsake's "Get Creative with Type"

For this project I kept it simple by using a single photo of my daughter and superimposed the lyrics from the song I sang while rocking her to sleep as a baby (“Beautiful Little Girl” by Cheri Keaggy).

Want to create your own? Here’s how:

1. Open a new 16″ x 20″ document in your photo-editing software. Change the background color to black. With the Horizontal Type tool, create a text box that is larger than the canvas. Type in your text and adjust the color to white. Highlight your text, then copy and paste it to fill your entire page.

2. Open your photo and enlarge it to fill the canvas. Make sure the photo is directly above your text in the Layers palette and change the photo-blending mode to Hard Light.

3. Adjust opacity and contrast until you achieve the look you want. Here, I darkened my photo to create more shadow depth, and duplicated the white text layer to increase overall brightness.

4. Add a monogram, title and border to complete your artwork. Upload it to your favorite online photo developer, then frame the print to hang in your home.

It’s actually a very simple technique that produces some very cool results. Drop me a line if you give it a try. I’d love to see how your new artwork turned out!

Responses

  1. I LOVE this technique when I saw it come into the offices, Deena. You are awesome!

  2. This technique looks simple to do and the result is awesome. I hope to find the time to try it out. The baby girl is beautiful.

  3. Super cool, Deena!!

  4. This is awesome! Love it!

  5. I love this wall art. Thanks for sharing. I have posted a photo using this technique in my gallery at Club CK. Hopefully this website link will take you there.


Leave a Reply

Categories

