Posted by: Deena Boese | June 17, 2010

Photo Album Scrapbooking

I very clearly remember when I first started scrapbooking. I was under the impression that beautifully complete and up-to-date scrapbook albums would replace all those blah photo albums that currently lined my shelves. And for a while, they did.

Then…reality set in. A new baby, a new house and lots of new responsibilities. It was not practical, healthy (or even possible) to scrapbook every photo I took. Scrapbooking began to feel more like a chore than the hobby I so dearly loved and I felt guilty for being so far behind. “Time out!”

During my re-evaluation I came across some old friends. Photo albums. I missed them. Empty little uniform spaces just happy to be filled with whatever I decided to throw inside. I loved that. It was then I realized they definitely have a place in the scrapbook world and I once again happily embraced the photo album.

If you find yourself in a similar situation to mine, think about ways to simplify your process and take advantage of the friendly and simple photo album. I’m here to tell you it’s okay to just throw photos into the pockets and leave it at that. (The scrapbook police won’t come knocking on your door.)

Want to take it one step further? Save one pocket for a journaling card that lists dates, names, etc. and embellish with some supplies. The next step? Assemble photos, memorabilia, journaling and a title using a variation of straight photos, cardstock and embellishments as I did here…

Supplies: Cardstock, bracket and brushes: Katie Pertiet; Stitching: Anna Aspnes; Font: Avant Garde and Steelfish. As seen in the Fast & Fresh Scrapbooks special issue by Creating Keepsakes magazine. Copyright Creative Crafts Group. Posted with prior permission from the publisher.

An easy way to make sure the pages coordinate and line up the way you envision is to work from a template in Photoshop. Here I created six separate 4″ x 6″ masking blocks and added my papers, photos and memorabilia to each. When complete, I simply set my crop dimensions to 4″ x 6″, saved each block separately and uploaded them along with my regular photos to be printed at the developer.

If you’d like to use this design as the basis for your next album, you can download my Photoshop template here.

Hope you enjoy this stress-free way to record memories and can once again rediscover the simple magic of photo albums!

Responses

  1. Deena,

    Thanks so much for the wonderful template. Your pages are awesome and this will certainly make things easier.

  2. Awesome album Deena! Love the design continuity and great use of divided page protectors! TFS!


Leave a Reply

Categories

